I wrote a letter to Quizno’s recently to find out if their bread had any dairy/honey/eggs/other vegan no-nos, and I actually got a letter back in the mail yesterday:
In response to your inquiry on bread ingredients I can tell you we have no animal or dairy derived products in any of our breads except the cheese in the rosemary parmesan bread. We get many inquiries from vegans and with the exception of the cheese bread there are no problems in eating any of our breads. Some bakeries use an animal-based L-Cysteine(1) as a dough relaxant in the dough conditioners; we do not. We have also eliminated all hydrogenated oils and shortenings from our breads long ago so our bread servings have 0 grams of trans fat. Our ciabatta has only flour, water, salt, starter and olive oil and is baked in stone hearth ovens.
Add another chain restaurant to your list of vegan safe houses.
- As an aside to this, Einstein Brothers uses L-Cysteine derived from duck feathers, a fact I discovered when I wrote the company to inquire about their ingredients. While Panera uses L-Cysteine in their bagels as well, they verified via email to their corporate office that they only use plant/synthetic sources for it. Vote appropriately with your dollars.